County extension council

The county extension council, comprised of elected and appointed citizens, is a full partner with Missouri's land-grant universities to deliver high-quality education and research-based information that helps people solve real-world problems and take advantage of opportunities.

Council members:

  • Work with extension specialists to provide the county educational program
  • Manage finances of local extension operations
  • Provide personnel to carry out extension activities
  • Elect and organize the local extension council

Council resource toolbox

The council resource toolbox is designed to assist council members and officers to best carry out their office duties and serve the constituents that they represent.

The Atchison County Extension Council meets on the first Tuesday of each month at the Velma Houts building.

County extension council officers

Dallas Hurst, Chair
dhurst1361@gmail.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Treyvor Umbarger, Vice Chair
umbargert@gmail.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Jennifer Geib, Secretary
jennifer.geib@rpbluejays.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Jon Lucas, Treasurer
acbinco@rpt.coop
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

County extension council members

Jim Ball
jrball1959@gmail.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Samuel Graves III
sbg7wb@mail.missouri.edu
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2021

Afton Hannah
Farm Bureau
afhannah83@gmail.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Alan Lager
alager@mfa-inc.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2021

Jeremy Palmer
jpalmer@fxbulldogs.net
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2021

James Quimby
County Commissioner
Appointed member                             Term ends February 2021

Richard Sons
acso845@rpt.coop
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Anthony Stepp
astepp311@gmail.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Leslie Sutter
Sutterleslie@yahoo.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2020

Allen Wennihan
atwennihan@gmail.com
Elected member                                 Term ends February 2021

Missouri elected officials serving this county

House

District 001

Senate

District 12