Non-tenure track promotion


Aug. 1 — Candidate requests SharePoint site; SharePoint site opens
Oct. 1 Candidate submits one paper copy and one electronic copy via SharePoint to supervisor; SharePoint site closed to candidate.
Dec. 1 —  Supervisor (i.e., regional director/continuing education director) submits letter(s) of recommendation - electronic copy via SharePoint and paper copy in dossier; SharePoint site is closed for supervisor recommendations and colleague input materials.
Dec. 1 —  External review letters are posted electronically to SharePoint site(s) and paper copy in the dossier submitted by supervisor to NTT Promotion Committee; SharePoint site is closed for extension review letters.  
Dec. 1 —  Program directors recommendations are posted electronically on SharePoint site(s) and paper copy submitted to NTT Promotion Committee for insertion into dossiers; SharePoint site closed to program directors.  
Jan. 15 — Promotion committee recommendations submitted to Vice Provost
March 1 — Vice Provost submits recommendations to Provost
Aug 1 — Provost makes promotion decisions
Sept. 1 — Appointment begins

*The deadline for each date is intended to be midnight the day prior to the stated date. For example: Nov. 1 materials need to be submitted by midnight Oct. 31.

The voluntary NTT promotion policy is for full-time, non-regular faculty members within MU Extension. This process applies to regional faculty members and to campus faculty members in an academic unit that does not have an NTT process. Extension faculty members may apply for one of three ranked positions: assistant extension professional, associate extension professional or extension professional.

For faculty members who elect to participate, the NTT promotion system provides a mechanism to recognize extension scholarship and professional growth. Regional and campus faculty members who plan to apply for the next round should discuss their plans with their supervisors as they build their performance expectations.

The next round of applications is due to supervisors by Oct. 1.

Background information

Call letter from MU Provost  Review of Ranked Non-Tenure Track (formerly called Non-Regular) Faculty Promotions

NTT promotion policy and guidelines

Resources and tools

Preparing promotion dossiers
Frequently asked questions
NTT Promotion FlowChart (PDF)
NTT eligibility guidelines (PDF)
NTT position eligibility flowchart (PDF)

Dossier workshops  

Non-Tenure Track dossier training workshops are for anyone preparing dossiers or who will be writing evaluation letters for candidates. Individuals planning to submit a dossier for promotion in the fall are strongly encouraged to attend or watch recordings of the workshops. The workshops are be presented via Adobe Connect and recorded for those who cannot attend; register through the ISE system to attend.

Recordings of NTT dossier workshops


08/07/2017 - NTT:  Preparing Your Dossier Video | Slide presentation (PPT)
05/24/2017 - NTT:  Preparing Your Dossier Video | Slide presentation (PPT)

08/04/2016 - NTT Dossier Preparation Video | Slide presentation (PPT)
05/16/2016 - Key Points:  NTT Dossier Video | Slide presentation (PPT)

Slide Presentations

Teaching/Extension Philosophy Criteria  |  Slide presentation (PPT)
Curricula Development and Program Impact  |  Slide presentation (PPT)
Transfer of Knowledge and Applied Research Criteria  |  Slide presentation (PPT)
Innovation and Creativity in Teaching Techniques  |  Slide presentation (PPT) 
External Reviewers/Peer Evaluations  |  Slide presentation (PPT)
Questions and Answers  |  Slide presentation (PPT)

Extension NTT promotion committee

The committee is comprised of a representative from each of the five program areas, continuing education and campus tenure track. The committee chair is selected by committee members and serves as chair for one-year. Committee members are determined by election within their area for a two- or three-year term.

Chair, Chris Thompson, Associate Extension Professional (Business Development) (9/2013-8/2018)
Van Ayers, Extension Professional (Community Development) (9/2015-8/2018)
Timothy Baker, Extension Professional (Agriculture and Natural Resources) (9/2016-8/2019)
Patricia Fisher, Extension Professional (4-H Youth Development) (9/2016-8/2018)
Raymond Massey, Extension Professor (Non-Tenure Track) (9/2015-8/2018)
Rebecca Travnichek, Extension Professional (Human Environmental Sciences) (9/2017-8/2020)
William Wiebold, Professor (Tenured) (9/2017-8/2020)