Agriculture Offerings

Ag Hall of Fame Nominations Needed

Nominations for the Nodaway County Agriculture Hall of Fame are being accepted through September 30 to be in consideration for the 2016 award, according to Randa Doty, University of Missouri Extension Nodaway County Program Director. The 2016 inductee will be honored at the November Farm/City Banquet on November 7.

Nomination forms are available at the University of Missouri Extension Center, 403 North Market, Room 308, Maryville, or on the web at Nominations made in previous years are on file and will continue to be considered by the selection committee.

Persons nominated must have been born in Nodaway County or have spent a significant part of their lives as residents of the county. It is not necessary that activities for which this recognition is given be accomplished while the person was a resident of the County, but they must have a direct relationship to agricultural progress in the County. Some of the areas of endeavor which might make a person eligible for consideration for membership in the Hall of Fame would be: livestock improvement, crop improvement, soil and water conservation, education, government, farm organizations (general or commodity oriented), marketing and providing services. Men and women are eligible for nomination.

The Hall of Fame began in 1976 to give recognition to people, past and present, who have made significant contributions to agriculture. The 2015 inductee were Jerry and Esther Coffelt .  Previous inductees include: 2014 - Eugene E. Frueh, 2013 – Steve Alexander, 2012 – Dr. Dennis Padgitt, 2011 – Claude Cline, 2010 – Vilas E. Young, 2009 – Don Hollingsworth, 2008 – Martin Suess, 2007 – Robert L. Alexander and Billy D. Kinman, 2006 – Dr. Joseph Powell, 2005 – Forrest Byergo, 2004 – Dr. James Campbell, 2003 – Dr. Alex Ching, 2002 – Pat Spire, 2001 – Paul Moyer and C.D. Bellows, 2000 – James Stiens, 1999 – Lloyd Summa, 1998 – Joe Espey, 1997 – Hale J. Sanders, 1996 – Joe Hull, 1995 – Bill Vest and John Schneider, 1994 – Ralph Clayton and Ercille T. Blackford, 1993 – Joseph Gemmeke and Byron D. Young, 1992 – Donald "Dick" Haynes, 1991 – Earl Alexander, 1990 – Harold Baldwin, 1989 – A.J. Dinsdale, 1988 – George Dalbey, 1987 – Myron E. Horton, 1986 – George H. Wilmes, 1985 – Howard Masters, 1984 – Vincent Spire, 1983 – Louis H. Ritterbusch, 1982 – LeRoy Lippman, 1981 – Albert Russell Martin and Fletcher Jones Dalbey, 1980 – Edwin B. Hamilton, 1979 – R.T. "Dick" Wright, 1978 – F.B. Houghton, Sr. and Robert D. Partridge, 1977 – John S. Bilby, James B. Prather and James Hervey Lemon, 1976 – Frank Bellows, H.C. Crane, T.W. Gaunt, W.T. Garrett and Jehu Ware.

The annual award is sponsored by the Nodaway County University of Missouri Extension Council.

University of Missouri Extension is the local link between the resources of the four University of Missouri campuses in Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla and St. Louis; Lincoln University in Jefferson City; and people throughout the state.

University of Missouri Extension does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, religion, age, disability or status as a Vietnam era veteran in employment or programs.

Ag Hall of Fame Nomination Form (pdf)


Northwest Missouri Regional Newsletter

Northwest Missouri Extension News You Can Use is a monthly newsletter that provides practical advice on a variety of subjects and reports on extension activities throughout the region.


Upcoming Events and Training for Fall 2016 

Fair Dates 

Many counties are in the process of updating fair schedules for the summer. You can check the MU Extension Daviess County office website for more info 


Small Acreage and Land Entrepreneurs (SALE) Conference Proceedings

Information and handouts from our presenters at the 3rd annual Small Acreage and Land Entrepreneurs Conference are posted on the SALE website. 


Check Out the Seasonal and Simple App

Seasonal and simple is a guide to help you find, select, store, and prepare fresh fruits and vegetables. The recipes use simple preparations and seasonings, so you can taste the goodness of a fruit or vegetable at the peak of its flavor. The great variety of colors, flavors and textures of fruits and vegetables makes eating them a pleasure.

Save the Date

Missouri Training Institute Supervisory Series

This Supervisory Series will once again be offered in the Fall of 2016 at the Northwest Technical School 

The dates are tentatively October 5 & 19; November 9th & 30th. More details to follow.